The physics engine currently selected is not supported

Report crashes, strange behaviour, or apparent bugs
coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7267
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: The physics engine currently selected is not supported

Post by coppelia » 17 May 2016, 16:13

Hello,

are you also running V-REP on Win7? Do the plugins load correctly when you launch it via the launcher or by double-clicking a V-REP scene? Finally, have you installed the VC redistribuable packages?

What happens if you simply copy the V-REP PRO EDU folder to another location, and try to launch it there from the command line?

It might also be that you need to be specifically in the V-REP folder when launching it.
So:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\V-REP3>V-REP_PRO_EDU\vrep.exe
might not work, but this should work:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\V-REP3\V-REP_PRO_EDU>vrep.exe
Cheers

cetigo
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Mar 2016, 10:42

Re: The physics engine currently selected is not supported

Post by cetigo » 18 May 2016, 07:19

Hi, I'm running V-Rep from Win 10, the plugins load correctly when launching from the link or when double clicking the vrep.exe.
I tried your solutions and it works when I'm launching it from the directory where it is installed. It doesn't work if I launch it from another location.
Thanks for the help!

FrankVeen
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Mar 2016, 16:01

Re: The physics engine currently selected is not supported

Post by FrankVeen » 09 Sep 2016, 12:31

Hi Coppelia,

I am having the same issue but I would like to run vrep from another directory so that a genetic algorithm plugin will store files in specific directories. I would like to do this so that I can run vrep multiple times in parallel. In both windows and linux I am however unable to load the physics plugins and I get the same error messages as cetigo mentioned. Vrep works fine when I run it from the v-rep directoy. Is there any possibility of running v-rep from another directory? Or do you have any advice on a workaround?

Thank in advance!

Cheers, Frank

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7267
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: The physics engine currently selected is not supported

Post by coppelia » 09 Sep 2016, 17:26

Hello Frank,

the best would probably to start V-REP from its installation folder and be able to specify a path when storing your files.

If you can't do this for whatever reason, then you can recompile the main client application that you can find in programming/v_repClientApplication. But before you recompile it, add following at the beginning of function main in file main.cpp:

Code: Select all

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
#ifdef WIN_VREP
    // Set the current path same as the application path
    char basePath[2048];
    _fullpath(basePath,argv[0],sizeof(basePath));
    std::string p(basePath);
    p.erase(p.begin()+p.find_last_of('\\')+1,p.end());
    printf(p.c_str());
    QDir::setCurrent(p.c_str());
#endif
...
This sets the current directory same as the application's directory.

Cheers

Post Reply