questions to java and a real robot

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Stefan89

questions to java and a real robot

Post by Stefan89 » 08 May 2013, 08:21

Hello all together,

I am new to V-REP so there is still many stuff in the documentation that I have to read.

I want to use Java for programming the simulated robots. This is possible with the remote API, when I have understood that correctly.
I am currently trying to get the sample program running, but the following exception occures:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: remoteApi.simxStart(Ljava/lang/String;IZZI)I
at remoteApi.simxStart(Native Method)
at simpleTest.main(simpleTest.java:27)
This line is effected:

Code: Select all

if (vrep.simxStart("127.0.0.1",19999,true,true,5000)!=-1)
My removeAPIconnections.txt file:
//
// As an example:
//
portIndex1_port = 19999
portIndex1_debug = false
portIndex1_syncSimTrigger = true
I also have permitted that the port can be used by V-Rep in my firewall.

I am using

System.loadLibrary("remoteApiJava");
to load the remoteApiJava.dll and the option
-Djava.library.path=D:\lib
to say where the library can be found.

Any ideas about this problem?

I think it should not be a problem to implement a Braitenberg Vehicle, a layer architecture, a subsumption architecture or a easy Bang Bang controller, right?

So a question came up to my mind. I have a real e-Puck and I am asking me now if it is possible to program it with Java via V-REP.

Can anybody give me answer on these questions?

Thanks a lot!

Stefan

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: questions to java and a real robot

Post by coppelia » 08 May 2013, 20:59

Hello Stefan,

Did you trxy the example java application that came with the installation? It is located in programming/java/simpleTest.java. Also try to update to last version (V3.0.3), the remote API has improved and allows now multiple connections from a same client.