Control quadricopter remote API vs c++

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Robert

Control quadricopter remote API vs c++

Post by Robert » 19 Aug 2015, 14:44

Hello,
I'm new to v-rep and I'm on to control a quadricopter with remote API from visual studio c++ with keyboard butttons, but i'm stuck at the beggining. I've set up the client side like shown here, but i have no idea how should I do the server side. I mean is the server side ( server) in the v-rep, as a childScript, or it is another c++ project?, cause I saw in the bubbleRob there is a client and a server project too, but there is some setup in v-rep also.
If the c++ server project needed also, what should be in it and what should be in the client side? And in the quadricopter case there are also more childScripts, 1 for each propeller and the main one. Should I work with all propellers separately or only with the main childScript? Do I need to rewrite them or jsut a part of it?
I'm really confused.

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: Control quadricopter remote API vs c++

Post by coppelia » 19 Aug 2015, 20:00

Hello,

take the controlTypeExamples.ttt scene. Remove all robots except for the purple robot. Then have a look at the script attached to the purple robot. There are basically only two important lines of code:

Code: Select all

simExtRemoteApiStart(portNb) -- this server function will automatically close again at simulation end
	result=simLaunchExecutable('bubbleRobClient',portNb.." "..leftMotor.." "..rightMotor.." "..noseSensor,0) -- set the last arg. to 1 to see the console of the launched client
The first will start a remote API server service on the port that you specify. The remote API client need to connect on that same port.
The second line will start the remote API client application, which will connect to V-REP. The source code of that application is located in programming/bubbleRobClient