Page 1 of 1

Scaling robot model

Posted: 16 Jul 2013, 14:06
by xelda1988
I wrote a simulation for a robotic hand, but now I have problems with the size because I imported all the meshes by a factor
of 100 wrong. Is there some easy way to scale the whole model back to the right size.

Regards,
Alex

Re: Scaling robot model

Posted: 16 Jul 2013, 14:37
by coppelia
Hello Alex,

Yes, just select all the shapes (or just the robot model if it was defined) then click Scaling in the object common properties dialog.

By the way, there is also an API function for scaling: simScaleSelectedObjects

Cheers

Re: Scaling robot model

Posted: 16 Jul 2013, 14:46
by xelda1988
Ok, worked!

But I still have the same problem.

I try to simulate the position of the joints by a associated child script with simSetJointTargetPos.

The joints are partly reached, but it seems that gravity is to large, they are not strong enough, even if I set Force Torque PID control the P-part to very high values. What could be the problem here?

Re: Scaling robot model

Posted: 16 Jul 2013, 15:01
by coppelia
Make sure you have set an appropriate force/torque. Also, make sure your shapes have correct masses and inertias. This is very important and a limitation of the ODE and Bullet engines.

If you read the section on dynamics design considerations (mainly points 6, 7 and 8), it should be much easier to obtain a functional construction.

Cheers

Re: Scaling robot model

Posted: 16 Jul 2013, 15:25
by xelda1988
Ok, I already checked that, but I was confused because the angles are set in radian, that was the only problem.
Solved.