Modify simulation time step while simulation is paused (remote api matlab)

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
R2D2

Modify simulation time step while simulation is paused (remote api matlab)

Postby R2D2 » 12 Jul 2017, 17:17

I am trying to carry out a simulation in v-rep 3. Specifically, there are 3 Manta vehicles. I have a matrix in Matlab which specifies their velocities and steering angles for each time instant t. The difference between two successive time instants (t(i)-t(i-1)) is not always the same. My approach is to pause the simulation at time instant t(i-1). Then set the desired velocities and steering angles of the vehicles, set the simulation time step equal to t(i)-t(i-1) and start the simulation. Pause the simulation at time instant t(i) and do the same... However it seems that the simulation time step does not change. Can someone help me please? This is my first project in v-rep, so i am not sure if this implementation is even legitimate. Thus, if you have any other ideas to implement this simulation, they would be really welcomed and appreciated. The code is given below:

Code: Select all

disp('Program started');
    clc
    close all
    clear all
    load('data.mat');
    vrep=remApi('remoteApi'); % using the prototype file (remoteApiProto.m)
    vrep.simxFinish(-1); % just in case, close all opened connections
    clientID=vrep.simxStart('127.0.0.1',19999,true,true,5000,5);
    vrep.simxPauseSimulation(clientID, vrep.simx_opmode_oneshot);
    if (clientID>-1)

disp('Connected to remote API server');

[returnCode,steer_handle(1)]=vrep.simxGetObjectHandle(clientID,'steer_joint', vrep.simx_opmode_blocking);
        [returnCode,motor_handle(1)]=vrep.simxGetObjectHandle(clientID,'motor_joint', vrep.simx_opmode_blocking);
        [returnCode,steer_handle(2)]=vrep.simxGetObjectHandle(clientID,'steer_joint#0', vrep.simx_opmode_blocking);