import Vrep error

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
somya
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Jul 2017, 18:58

import Vrep error

Post by somya » 15 Jul 2017, 11:27

Hi,

I am trying to simulate a robot using python script. I am using pythonxy. I copied the remoteAppbinding files in a folder and also the lib file in the same folder. when I tried to to run "import vrep" command, it is throwing the following error:

----------------------------------------------------
The remoteApi library could not be loaded. Make sure
it is located in the same folder as "vrep.py", or
appropriately adjust the file "vrep.py"
----------------------------------------------------

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "<ipython-input-3-9a50e7b3e331>", line 1, in <module>
import vrep

File "vrep.py", line 59, in <module>
c_GetJointPosition = ct.CFUNCTYPE(ct.c_int32,ct.c_int32, ct.c_int32, ct.POINTER(ct.c_float), ct.c_int32)(("simxGetJointPosition", libsimx))

AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '_handle'

Can someone please help me this issue?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 6185
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: import Vrep error

Post by coppelia » 16 Jul 2017, 20:21

Hello,

are you sure you didn't mix-up the 32 and 64 bit version of the remote API library? Also, did you try to make it run with the regular python?

Cheers

somya
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Jul 2017, 18:58

Re: import Vrep error

Post by somya » 17 Jul 2017, 18:10

Hi,

I downloaded vrep 64 version and i copied 64bit dll file. I tried to run vrep.py in a cygwin terminal it gave me the same error.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 6185
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: import Vrep error

Post by coppelia » 17 Jul 2017, 21:03

Your problem is not related to whether V-REP is 32 or 64bit. You need to match your Python with the remote API library. So 32-bit python with 32-bit remote API DLL. Or 64-bit python with 64-bit remote API DLL.

Cheers

somya
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Jul 2017, 18:58

Re: import Vrep error

Post by somya » 29 Jul 2017, 18:19

Hi,

To avoid confusion, I tried with both the versions(32 and 64) of DLL file. Both showed the same error. Got stuck. Need help!!

Thanks

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 6185
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: import Vrep error

Post by coppelia » 02 Aug 2017, 12:41

Please try to compile the library yourself, and let me know if that library then works.

Cheers

Post Reply