A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
raulortiz
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 11:51

A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by raulortiz »

Hello,
I have been trying to interface ROS Kinetic with v-rep on ubuntu.
Everything is correct but when I type >> catkin build. I have this problem:
Workspace configuration appears valid.
-------------------------------------------------------
Starting >>> vrep_ros_interface
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Errors << vrep_ros_interface:cmake /tmp/quickstart_ws/logs/vrep_ros_interface/build.cmake.006.log
CMake Error at /tmp/quickstart_ws/src/vrep_ros_interface/cmake/modules/FindVREP.cmake:28 (message):
The specified VREP_ROOT dir does not point to a valid V-REP installation.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:12 (find_package)


cd /tmp/quickstart_ws/build/vrep_ros_interface; catkin build --get-env vrep_ros_interface | catkin env -si /usr/bin/cmake /tmp/quickstart_ws/src/vrep_ros_interface --no-warn-unused-cli -DCATKIN_DEVEL_PREFIX=/tmp/quickstart_ws/devel/.private/vrep_ros_interface -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/tmp/quickstart_ws/install; cd -
....................................................................................................
Failed << vrep_ros_interface:cmake [ Exited with code 1 ]
Failed <<< vrep_ros_interface [ 0.8 seconds ]
[build] Summary: 0 of 1 packages succeeded.
[build] Ignored: None.
[build] Warnings: None.
[build] Abandoned: None.
[build] Failed: 1 packages failed.


The problem is related with V-rep installation (I do not know if I have installed it properly, I start the program in terminal typing ./vrep.sh but I do not know if that is correct) .
I hope you could help me.
Cheers

fferri
Posts: 1229
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 19:28

Re: A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by fferri »

How did you set the VREP_ROOT environment variable?

Where do you have installed V-REP?

raulortiz
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 11:51

Re: A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by raulortiz »

Hello,
About the installation , I downloaded the program from the official website and I put it on the desktop. I open it with the terminal typing " ./vrep.sh ", but I do not know if it is correctly installed or not.
About setting the VREP_ROOT environment variable, I do not know how to do it.
Thank you.
Kind regards Raul

raulortiz
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 11:51

Re: A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by raulortiz »

My operating system is ubuntu, I have checked out if it is installed in " Ubuntu Software " but it is not. So, I think that I have been using v-rep but It have not been installed properly considering that I open v-rep with the terminal (on the path of the folder installation ./vrep.sh).
Thank you in advance.

fferri
Posts: 1229
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 19:28

Re: A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by fferri »

Run

Code: Select all

export VREP_ROOT=/path/to/your/V-REP_PRO_...
In the terminal, just before running

Code: Select all

catkin build
(Replace /path/to/your/V-REP_PRO_... with the actual location of your vrep directory)

raulortiz
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 11:51

Re: A problem Interfacing ROS Kinetic with V-rep

Post by raulortiz »

Now , it works.
Thank you very much.

Post Reply