Remove the random seed in path planning

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
Ting53
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Jul 2018, 21:39

Remove the random seed in path planning

Post by Ting53 » 05 Aug 2018, 12:21

Hi,

I am using the path planning in calculation modules for mobile robot. However, the path result is different every time. How can I set the function to get the same path result all the time? Because I need the same path to do the experiment.

I added path planning task in calculation modules, then used the function, simSearchPath, in child script to plan the path.

Thanks,
Ting

Ting53
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Jul 2018, 21:39

Re: Remove the random seed in path planning

Post by Ting53 » 05 Aug 2018, 13:55

Hi,

I have one more question about the path planning in calculation modules. What is the initial algorithm used in the path planning without setting anything?

Thanks,
Ting

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 6867
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Remove the random seed in path planning

Post by coppelia » 06 Aug 2018, 19:28

Hello,

it seems you are using a very old functionality, that is not directly supported anymore. We highly recommend you to use the path planning functionality offered by the OMPL plugin for V-REP.

Cheers

Ting53
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Jul 2018, 21:39

Re: Remove the random seed in path planning

Post by Ting53 » 08 Aug 2018, 12:58

Hi,

Thank you for your replying.
I'm using OMPL motion planning, RRT Connect Algorithm. I implemented the same code from the demo, 3DoFHolonomicPathPlanning, but there is an error that I don't know how to solve it.
[0m[31mError: RRTConnect: Motion planning start tree could not be initialized!
at line 177 in E:\ompl-1.3.1-Source\src\ompl\geometric\planners\rrt\src\RRTConnect.cpp

I am using line follower robot and OMPL motion planning method.

Thank you.
Ting

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 6867
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Remove the random seed in path planning

Post by coppelia » 08 Aug 2018, 18:40

What happens with another path planning method?
My guess is that you have set your upper/lower limits badly (e.g. a joint is maybe initially outside of the specified range).

Cheers

Post Reply