Page 1 of 1

Rotating sensor on robot

Posted: 09 Oct 2018, 21:20
by remblim
I got a robot wich moves around in the simulation, I would like to make a sort of scanning (rotating) laser sensor. The robot is moving and the wheels are nicely rotating but I'm not able to move the sensor positioned on top of a revolute joint. I tried Torque/force, inverse kinemetic and motion mode (although depreciated). Other thing I tried was position a small object (low mass primitive shape) as child of the revolute joint with then the sensor as child from primitive shape but strange things happen when the simulation starts.

I hope you guys can help me.

Re: Rotating sensor on robot

Posted: 10 Oct 2018, 07:27
by coppelia
Hello,

for a sensor, you would typically not want to dynamically simulate it. So the rotating elements would be non-respondable and static shapes. The joint should be in passive mode. Then you can modify the angular position of your joint with sim.setJointPosition.

Cheers

Re: Rotating sensor on robot

Posted: 10 Oct 2018, 08:42
by remblim
It works, thank you for the fast reply.

King regards