Measurements and unit of measure

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
Gaetano
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Dec 2018, 18:57

Measurements and unit of measure

Post by Gaetano » 18 Dec 2018, 12:35

Hello to everybody,

I started to use V-REP only some days ago, so I'm a novice. I'm using it with a remote API (Matlab). I would ask you 2 question:

-Is it possible in some ways to take measures in V-REP? (For example the distance between a mobile robot and a cuboid)

- Are parameters such as velocity,acceleration,position (and so on) expressed in the international unit of measurement?

Thank you all!

Regards.

fferri
Posts: 408
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 19:28

Re: Measurements and unit of measure

Post by fferri » 19 Dec 2018, 18:16

Hello,

have a look at V-REP distance calculation module.

And yes, V-REP does use standard measure units.

Gaetano
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Dec 2018, 18:57

Re: Measurements and unit of measure

Post by Gaetano » 19 Dec 2018, 18:17

Thank you for the answer!

Gaetano
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Dec 2018, 18:57

Re: Measurements and unit of measure

Post by Gaetano » 19 Dec 2018, 20:42

fferri wrote:
19 Dec 2018, 18:16
Hello,

have a look at V-REP distance calculation module.

And yes, V-REP does use standard measure units.
Sorry, I've another question.

Can you explain me if it's possibile to have a rotation of a revolut joint with all static components? The objective is merely aesthetic. I tried with the common command SetJointTargetVelocity but, although this, the revolute joint doesn't produce a rotation.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7396
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Measurements and unit of measure

Post by coppelia » 20 Dec 2018, 10:09

In that case set your joint into passive mode, and your shape as static (i.e. non-dynamic)and non-respondable. Then adjust the angle/position of your joint with sim.setJointPosition.

Cheers

Gaetano
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Dec 2018, 18:57

Re: Measurements and unit of measure

Post by Gaetano » 20 Dec 2018, 17:54

coppelia wrote:
20 Dec 2018, 10:09
In that case set your joint into passive mode, and your shape as static (i.e. non-dynamic)and non-respondable. Then adjust the angle/position of your joint with sim.setJointPosition.

Cheers
Ok, I've done as you said (all static and non-respondable components and joint in passive mode) but it's still not possible to see a rotation of the wheel linked to the joint. Is there anything else that I have to set or try?

Post Reply