Reached Position - simSetJointTargetVelocity

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
GabrieleGreco
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 May 2013, 14:46

Reached Position - simSetJointTargetVelocity

Post by GabrieleGreco » 12 Jul 2013, 12:02

Hi to everyone,

I have a simple question:

I use a joint in torque/force mode and i set his position with regular api function simSetJointTargetPosition.
To identify if the target position was reached, i get the joint position with regular api function simGetJointPosition and evaluate an error in position; there is another way for doing this? (Function, Object Parameter or more).

best regards,
Gabriele

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7445
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Reached Position - simSetJointTargetVelocity

Post by coppelia » 12 Jul 2013, 13:11

Hello Gabriele,

There is not other API function to determine if the target position has been reached when the joint is in position control. Why do you need another method?

The point is that when your joint is in position control, it will always be controlling itself in order to hold the position (i.e. regulation). How good the regulation is depends on the controller or the PID values when in PID control method.

Cheers

GabrieleGreco
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 May 2013, 14:46

Re: Reached Position - simSetJointTargetVelocity

Post by GabrieleGreco » 15 Jul 2013, 08:53

I use this for position control of a Pick & Place robot with a state machine, transitions between states occurs when the previous position is reached.

I will do a better tuning of the PID.

Marc, thanks a lot
best regards,
Gabriele

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7445
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Reached Position - simSetJointTargetVelocity

Post by coppelia » 15 Jul 2013, 09:20

Hello Gabriele,

For a better tuning of the PID, or a custom controller, have a look at joint control callback scripts.

Cheers

Post Reply