Scaling robot model

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
xelda1988
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Jul 2013, 17:13

Scaling robot model

Post by xelda1988 » 16 Jul 2013, 14:06

I wrote a simulation for a robotic hand, but now I have problems with the size because I imported all the meshes by a factor
of 100 wrong. Is there some easy way to scale the whole model back to the right size.

Regards,
Alex

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7261
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Scaling robot model

Post by coppelia » 16 Jul 2013, 14:37

Hello Alex,

Yes, just select all the shapes (or just the robot model if it was defined) then click Scaling in the object common properties dialog.

By the way, there is also an API function for scaling: simScaleSelectedObjects

Cheers

xelda1988
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Jul 2013, 17:13

Re: Scaling robot model

Post by xelda1988 » 16 Jul 2013, 14:46

Ok, worked!

But I still have the same problem.

I try to simulate the position of the joints by a associated child script with simSetJointTargetPos.

The joints are partly reached, but it seems that gravity is to large, they are not strong enough, even if I set Force Torque PID control the P-part to very high values. What could be the problem here?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7261
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Scaling robot model

Post by coppelia » 16 Jul 2013, 15:01

Make sure you have set an appropriate force/torque. Also, make sure your shapes have correct masses and inertias. This is very important and a limitation of the ODE and Bullet engines.

If you read the section on dynamics design considerations (mainly points 6, 7 and 8), it should be much easier to obtain a functional construction.

Cheers

xelda1988
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Jul 2013, 17:13

Re: Scaling robot model

Post by xelda1988 » 16 Jul 2013, 15:25

Ok, I already checked that, but I was confused because the angles are set in radian, that was the only problem.
Solved.

Post Reply