Trouble running V-REP headless

Report crashes, strange behaviour, or apparent bugs
IanCol
Posts: 12
Joined: 18 Aug 2016, 04:03

Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by IanCol »

Hi There,

I've installed Ubuntu 16.04 and the latest version of V-REP on a desktop computer that we plan to use as a server. I am trying to get V-REP to run headless so that we can ssh in and run headless simulations. I can get it to run headless if I am logged in locally, but nothing will work over ssh.

I tried:
~/opt/vrep/V-REP_PRO_EDU_V3_3_2_64_Linux/vrep.sh -h -s5000 -q
And got the error:

Code: Select all

QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display 
Aborted (core dumped)
I also tried:
xvfb-run --auto-servernum --server-num=1 ~/opt/vrep/V-REP_PRO_EDU_V3_3_2_64_Linux/vrep.sh -h -s5000 -q
And got the error:

Code: Select all

/home/ian/opt/vrep/V-REP_PRO_EDU_V3_3_2_64_Linux/vrep.sh: line 33: 24574 Floating point exception(core dumped) "$dirname/$appname" "${PARAMETERS[@]}"

1. What am I doing wrong?
2. Is V-REP able to run truly headless?

Thanks,
Ian

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10337
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by coppelia »

Edit: make sure to first read this topic about headless mode, this thread is old.

Hello Ian,

When you start V-REP in headless mode, you basically run the exact same binaries as the V-REP with GUI. It is not a true headless version of V-REP. I see currently two possibilities:
  • You can try to run with different graphic settings and see if this makes a difference. Have a look at file system/usrset.txt. In there, try out different values for offscreenContextType, fboType, forceFboViaExt and vboOperation.
  • You can recompile V-REP in true headless mode by compiling V-REP with the makefile_noGui_noGl makefile. In that case however, vision sensors will only work if they rely on a plugin for image generation (e.g. v_repExtPovRay).
Have also a look at this topic.

Cheers

gariepya
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Jul 2017, 19:25

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by gariepya »

It looks like a problem between the latest version of xvfb and Qt 5.5.

See https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/48195

Would it be possible to update the build of the download page to Qt 5.6?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10337
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

for next release everything should be based on Qt5.9.0LTS. Check back in 2-4 weeks or so, we should be able to provide you then with a beta version.

Cheers

webrot
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 18:14

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by webrot »

I am running in the same issue. Is there any workaround in the meanwhile?

It is somewhat urgent for me to get this working.

Thanks in advance.

deathstar

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by deathstar »

Has anyone found a solution. I'm running into the same problem. I tried building v-rep from source using Qt5.9, and all the libraries mentioned in http://www.coppeliarobotics.com/helpFil ... ngVrep.htm .

It generated the library files. But it did have an error

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/ld: error in /usr/bin/lua5.1(.eh_frame); no .eh_frame_hdr table will be created.
ln -s libv_rep.so.1.0.0 libv_rep.so
ln -s libv_rep.so.1.0.0 libv_rep.so.1
ln -s libv_rep.so.1.0.0 libv_rep.so.1.0
I tried running v-rep with the lib outputs and I'm getting "Error: could not find or correctly load the V-REP library"

Code: Select all

ldd libv_rep.so
didn't result in anything missing.

Any thoughts?

Or is it possible to get the beta version?

deathstar

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by deathstar »

I was able to get V-REP running headless by installing Xorg (Xserver) and running the latest (compiled) version of V-REP. Let me run a few tests and then I'll share instructions.

webrot
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 18:14

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by webrot »

That would be great. Thanks!

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10337
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by coppelia »

btw, you should run

Code: Select all

./libLoadErrorCheck.sh
instead of

Code: Select all

ldd libv_rep.so
since we need to run ldd in the same conditions as when we are starting libv_rep.so. The last line in libLoadErrorCheck.sh should be removed.

Cheers

webrot
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 18:14

Re: Trouble running V-REP headless

Post by webrot »

Any updates?

Post Reply