ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks [Solved]

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks [Solved]

Post by omar khalfaoui »

Hello everyone

I was following the ROS tutorial, as i launched V-REP , after roscore, i can see that the plugin is loaded:

Code: Select all

...
Plugin 'Ros': loading...
Plugin 'Ros': load succeeded.
...
but when i switch to V-REP stacks using roscd, this is the result:

Code: Select all

root@Grendaizer:/home/omar# roscd vrep
roscd: No such package/stack 'vrep'
root@Grendaizer:/home/omar# 
another question, what do you mean by
Make sure to inspect the stack and package dependencies (in the files stack.xml and manifest.xml)
I'm sorry if i'm asking too much, but this is my first experience with V-REP.

thank you very much.
cheers
Last edited by omar khalfaoui on 24 Jan 2014, 02:58, edited 1 time in total.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10375
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

you probably have not correctly installed the V-REP packages, or ROS for that matter.
Try with something similar:

Code: Select all

$ source ~/fuerte_workspace/setup.bash
after that, roscd vrep should work.

Cheers

omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by omar khalfaoui »

Hello Coppelia, and thank you for you answer.

i already tried this solution but without any result.
as you can see in the caputre bellow

Image

I followed every tutorial step-by-step
I should say that my Fuerte_Workspace folder is under : /home/omar/fuerte_worspace/sandbox

so basically i copied "vrep" and "rosBubbleRob" to ROS_WORKSPACE folder, as you can see :

Code: Select all

root@Grendaizer:/home/omar/fuerte_workspace# ls -l
totale 28
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 gen  8 23:48 rosBubbleRob
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 gen  9 00:32 sandbox
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1697 gen  8 23:38 setup.bash
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 6760 gen  8 23:38 setup.sh
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1474 gen  8 23:38 setup.zsh
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 gen  8 23:48 vrep
root@Grendaizer:/home/omar/fuerte_workspace# 
Is it something with the stack and package dependencies (in the files stack.xml and manifest.xml)?
if so, which stack.xml and manifest.xml am i suppose to update?

Thank you very much.

Cheers,

omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by omar khalfaoui »

No one had my same problem?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10375
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by coppelia »

Hello Omar,

normally there is no need to modify anything on the V-REP stack side. I rather suspect that you maybe missed one or two steps while installing and configuring ROS itself.

Cheers

omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by omar khalfaoui »

Thank You Coppelia,

I will try to check everything from the beginning, and I'll let You know.

greetings.

xepost
Posts: 11
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 09:37

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by xepost »

coppelia wrote:Hello Omar,

normally there is no need to modify anything on the V-REP stack side. I rather suspect that you maybe missed one or two steps while installing and configuring ROS itself.

Cheers

Hi Coppelia,

I also had some problems installing it but after some work and with the help of the commands from
http://www.coppeliarobotics.com/helpFiles/ under Ros Tutorials section, I managed it to work. The tutorial was a bit hazy was on the sym link part. There are already files with the same name as the followings so before using ln -s one had to rename/delete, then create the sysm links and then finally use make.

vrep_plugin/include/v_repConst.h should point onto VREP_INSTALL_DIR/programming/include/v_repConst.h
vrep_plugin/include/v_repTypes.h should point onto VREP_INSTALL_DIR/programming/include/v_repTypes.h
vrep_plugin/include/v_repLib.h should point onto VREP_INSTALL_DIR/programming/include/v_repLib.h
vrep_plugin/src/v_repLib.cpp should point onto VREP_INSTALL_DIR/programming/common/v_repLib.cpp

My question is are there any other tutorials that u can provide on ros connection.

Bests,

omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by omar khalfaoui »

Hi guys,

I'm sorry if I was away for this long, but I have some exams to prepare.
I tried the ROS tutorial, but same problems.

xepost, did You my same problem? that roscd vrep wasn't working?
and did you copy the V-Rep stacks in your workspace?

cheers.

omar khalfaoui
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 14:32

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks

Post by omar khalfaoui »

Hi guys,

I just fixed everything! now everything is working just fine (so far so good).
basically i retried again, and I don't know how but it works. Maybe i use to skip some important detail.

thank you xepost for pointing out the fact that we have to rename/delete the existing files.

thank you again guys!

cheers.

xepost
Posts: 11
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 09:37

Re: ROS is not aware of V-REP stacks [Solved]

Post by xepost »

Hi Omar,

My problem was it simply couldnt compile before creating the symlinks. Hope that I could helped.

Bests

Post Reply