Controlling the ACRM robot, keyboard control

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Victor Gomez

Controlling the ACRM robot, keyboard control

Post by Victor Gomez »

Good day everyone, I'm quite new to V-REP and still going through the tutorials and manuals available online. Nevertheless, I can't completely understand how the ACRM robot moves.
I intend to do a simulation using it, in which I need to be able to control the direction of it using the keyboard or maybe an in-screen display, i.e., to turn right, left, stop or keep moving forward. Right now, the robot, when the simulation starts, just moves in a, what I call, erratic movement, as I can't understand in the scripts how or where is the movement input, pattern or cycle.

Any suggestion or help about what should I read and go in detail to be able to fulfill this task?

Thank you so very much for your help!

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: Controlling the ACRM robot, keyboard control

Post by coppelia »

Hello Victor,

the control algorithm of the ACMR-5 robot model is similar to following:

A signal is generated that has several sinusoidal components. Then, each element of the snake applies the signal at a different time: first the first element, then a little bit later the second element, then the third element, etc. Basically: the position the the front motor will successively be applied be all other elements, but in a time-delayed manner.

And since that snake has 2 DoFs per element (at least when moving in the water), a second sinusoidal signal is also used.

Cheers

Victor Gomez

Post by Victor Gomez »

Thank you so very much for your answer. I understand how it moves now. Nevertheless, I can't identify the function of the movement in the scripts.