How to Simulate Linear Delta Robot

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
arp

How to Simulate Linear Delta Robot

Post by arp »

Hi,
I am new to V-REP. I want to simulate this Robot.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYs6jASd_Ww

I tried looking into how the the Adept Quattro and ABB IRB 360 have been done. But I am still a little clueless on how to model this robot.

Specifically I am confused because the triangular end-effector is connected to six joints. How would I make a single object child of six-joints?

My idea of how the robot hierarchy should be is as follows:

Code: Select all

Base
|--PrismaticJoint1(For Linear Motor)
     |--ShapeMovingWithPrismaticJoint
                  |---SphericalJoint       
                                |---Rod1
                                        |--SphericalJoint
                                                     |---TriangularEndEffector(But this is connected to six other joints )
                  |---SphericalJoint
                                |---Rod2
                                        |--SphericalJoint
                                                     |--TriangularEndEffector(This seems not possible)
|--PrismaticJoint2
  ---And so on
Pointers in the correct direction would be greatly appreciated

Additional Question:
I see three Green Joints in the End Effector of the Adept Quattro. called Q_cartesianX ... What is the use of these three Green Coloured Joints?

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: How to Simulate Linear Delta Robot

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

modeling such a parallel robot is no simple task, and it requires some experience. Since the mechanism has several loops, you will have to very carefully think about how to create the model hierarchy. The model hierarchy can sometimes be simplified if you only need to run the robot in forward or in inverse kinematics.