Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Report crashes, strange behaviour, or apparent bugs
Post Reply
PvtSchneewitchen
Posts: 12
Joined: 12 Jul 2019, 09:37

Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Post by PvtSchneewitchen »

Hi Guys,

since i recently upgrated to Version 4.2.0 it is not possible anymore to load XML-Scenes.
When i try to load a scene the Windows File-Dialog just gives me the possibility to choose ".ttt"-files.
The only thing that still works is loading a XML-Scene programatically.

Have i missed something that this is not possible anymore?


Cheers,
Patrick

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10312
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Post by coppelia »

Hello Patrick,

that is strange. What revision version do you have?
You can still go [Menu bar --> File --> open scene...] and a load scene dialog will appear, and list all *.ttt and *.simscene.xml files

Cheers

ray8_3
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Dec 2017, 07:28

Re: Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Post by ray8_3 »

Hi, I am using CoppeliaSim 4.2.0 rev 5 Edu. I am having the same issue. Please see the youtube link below:

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10312
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

indeed, this problem keeps reappearing strangely with specific versions/platforms!
As a workaround you can open the scene with sim.loadScene, or you can create an addon simAddOnXML format loader.lua, place it in the CoppeliaSim folder, with following content:

Code: Select all

function sysCall_info()
    return {autoStart=false}
end

function sysCall_init()
    local file=sim.fileDialog(sim.filedlg_type_load,"XML Format","","","Coppelia XML format","simscene.xml")
    if file then
        sim.loadScene(file.."@keepCurrent")
    end
    return {cmd='cleanup'}
end
Cheers

ray8_3
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Dec 2017, 07:28

Re: Can't load XML-Scenes Scince 4.2.0

Post by ray8_3 »

coppelia wrote: 13 Aug 2021, 09:15 Hello,

indeed, this problem keeps reappearing strangely with specific versions/platforms!
As a workaround you can open the scene with sim.loadScene, or you can create an addon simAddOnXML format loader.lua, place it in the CoppeliaSim folder, with following content:

Code: Select all

function sysCall_info()
    return {autoStart=false}
end

function sysCall_init()
    local file=sim.fileDialog(sim.filedlg_type_load,"XML Format","","","Coppelia XML format","simscene.xml")
    if file then
        sim.loadScene(file.."@keepCurrent")
    end
    return {cmd='cleanup'}
end
Cheers
Dear Admin,

Many thanks for your quick reply... Just tried your solution, which solves the problem nicely :-)

Best regards,

Rui

Post Reply