CoppeliaSim 4.2 legacy remote api simxSetJointTargetVelocity not working

Report crashes, strange behaviour, or apparent bugs
Post Reply
Puschek
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jul 2021, 19:59

CoppeliaSim 4.2 legacy remote api simxSetJointTargetVelocity not working

Post by Puschek »

Hallo,

Hi,
it seems that CoppeliaSim 4.2 for MacOs has a bug within the remoteApi. Setting the targets velocity with
simxSetJointTargetVelocity has no effect.
The return code of the api call is 0 but my little car does not move. Any
ideas or suggestions what to try? I use the Python Library
My joint is in torque/force mode.
Function call is

Code: Select all

sim.simxSetJointTargetVelocity(self.clientID, self.mh[2],
self.velocity, self.WAIT))
self.WAIT = sim.simx_opmode_oneshot_wait
# self.mh[2] is one of the 4 car_m_joints of the object
# self.velocity is calculated by 200 * math.pi / 180.0
Why I tried:
I changed the transmission mode to something else (every option none is working).
I used the sim files from my installation and from the github repo (https://github.com/CoppeliaRobotics/remoteApiBindings). None are working with that option.
I tried an Linux VM (Ubuntu 18.04) - not working.
Windows 10 VM - not working.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10312
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: CoppeliaSim 4.2 legacy remote api simxSetJointTargetVelocity not working

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

this would be a strange behaviour. Can you confirm that other API functions work fine? And if this is the case, then please check if your joint is dynamically enabled (is in force/torque mode, has its motor enabled, and has its control loop disabled. It should also show a bouncing ball symbol in the scene hierarchy, next to its name/alias, when simulation is running).
Additionally, if you execute sim.setJointTargetVelocity from the command window, does it work?

Also, on MacOS, depending on your revision number, you might also have the same problem as in this post.

Cheers

Puschek
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jul 2021, 19:59

Re: CoppeliaSim 4.2 legacy remote api simxSetJointTargetVelocity not working

Post by Puschek »

Thanks for your reply.
It seems that my joint has control loop enabled for some reasons which I don't really understand.
Not it works fine...Gosh I even checked that since I saw it in a different post.

Thank you very much!

Post Reply