Run without GUI

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
VrepOuni
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 12:31

Run without GUI

Post by VrepOuni »

Could CoppeliaSim run without gui? I mean the program could communicate with remoteAPI like python or MATLAB normally but without a user interface.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 8982
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Run without GUI

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

yes, you can start CoppeliaSim in headless mode with the -h command line argument. You can also use the purely headless library, coppeliaSimHeadless.dll (or similar), instead of coppeliaSim.dll: in that case however, you won't be able to use vision sensors, unless they render via software, e.g. via the pov-ray plugin. Eventually, you should also be able to perform remote rendering via a connection to a browser that acts as a rendering server.

In headless mode, you will then need to select one or several means of communication with CoppeliaSim (WebSockets will be added for next release).

Cheers

VrepOuni
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 12:31

Re: Run without GUI

Post by VrepOuni »

Thanks a lot! The help files you provided are very useful.

yifanzhou
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Jun 2020, 06:17

Re: Run without GUI

Post by yifanzhou »

Hello,
I wonder if I can start CoppeliaSim in headless mode with the -h command line argument in a cloud server?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 8982
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Run without GUI

Post by coppelia »

Please have a look at this topic.

Cheers

Post Reply