NaoQi with v-Rep

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
msreddy

NaoQi with v-Rep

Post by msreddy »

I am new to V-rep & Nao. I have simple questions. Can some one please clarify me.

1) V-rep is a simulation engine. Can't we simulate NAO behavior like any other robots in a scene with a NAO model without NaoQi.

2) If not, then what are the advantages, & disadvantages for integrating (communication on the same PC) V-Rep & NaoQi.

Thank you

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: NaoQi with v-Rep

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

about your questions:
  • Yes, you can simulate a model of NAO without NaoQi. But in that case you will not use the original controller code (i.e. you will have to generate the joint movement yourself for each of the many joints). Have a look at the NAO model in V-REP: Models/mobile/NAO.ttm. It simply uses prerecorded joint movements. But you can also do it yourself.
  • The advantage is to be able to use the original controller to control a NAO model.
Cheers

msreddy

Post by msreddy »

Thank you for the reply.

> Yes, you can simulate a model of NAO without NaoQi. But in that case you will not use the original controller code (i.e. you will have to generate the joint movement yourself for each of the many joints). Have a look at the NAO model in V-REP: Models/mobile/NAO.ttm. It simply uses prerecorded joint movements. But you can also do it yourself.
So I can programme my controller in V-Rep for the joint movements.

> The advantage is to be able to use the original controller to control a NAO model.
For example, i have a neural network controller for joint movements (assume that NAO is standing still), then that means, with this controller i can control physical NAO, and we can also use to control NAO model in V-Rep? So that it means by using NaoQi & V-Rep together brings the simulation more close to the reality!

Thank you

coppelia
Site Admin

Post by coppelia »