Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
dds
Posts: 85
Joined: 20 Mar 2014, 14:35

Re: Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Post by dds »

Hi. The plugin is out of date for the new version of CoppeliaSim. If what you need is to communicate Simulink and CoppeliaSim, I would recommend using this new plugin:
Source: https://github.com/santdiego/simExtSimulink
Compiled: https://github.com/santdiego/simExtSimulink/tags
.Although the underlying operation is the same, the latter is easier to use.
I will update the SAS plugin as soon as I can!
Greetings.

sumi_boss
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Sep 2020, 11:44

Re: Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Post by sumi_boss »

Thanks for the advice I will check the plugin fail info. I am using V-REP v3.3.0.

sumi_boss
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Sep 2020, 11:44

Re: Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Post by sumi_boss »

Hello,

So sorry to bother you again but I'm not quite sure as to how to install the plugin. I followed the instructions but this part confuses me:

3. Open the .pro row and configure the project using the same version of the CoppeliaSim QtKit.
4. Compile in Release mode

I don't understand how to open and configure the .pro file. When I try to open it, Windows doesn't know which program to use. I tried with your Beta version as well. I have the R2017b version of Simulink so I can't open the model properly so I guess that's the problem in that case. Could you please give me some more details about how to open, configure and compile the .pro file?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 8223
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Post by coppelia »

Just for info: you are using a very old version of CoppeliaSim / V-REP, and you will probably run into problems running new plugin on there.

Cheers

sumi_boss
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Sep 2020, 11:44

Re: Shared Memory Plugin For VREP /Matlab Communication

Post by sumi_boss »

Hello,

I installed the newest Coppelia Sim Edu version (v4.1.0) as well as Simulink R2019a. I used the compiled plugin that you shared in the above post. However, when I try to run the example you gave and I start the simulation in Simulink the Coppelia simulation starts as well, but gives the following error:

Pioneer_p3dx@childScript:error] 19: attempt to index global 'simulinkTable' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
[string "Pioneer_p3dx@childScript"]:19: in function <[string "Pioneer_p3dx@childScript"]:14>

The Simulink simulation gives the following warnings:

Warning: block 'example1/getTable': Memory could not be attached. Verify that the server is active. The output will be dimensioned by means of propagation.
Source 'example1/getTable' specifies that its sample time (-1) is back-inherited. You should explicitly specify the sample time of sources. You can disable this diagnostic by setting the 'Source block specifies -1 sample time' diagnostic to 'none' in the Sample Time group on the Diagnostics pane of the Configuration Parameters dialog box.

But when I click on the 'getTable' block it doesn't offer the chance to change its setting.

Could you help me understand why this happens and how I might be able to fix it?

Post Reply