Simple Prismatic Joint Actuation

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
mattyc_56

Simple Prismatic Joint Actuation

Post by mattyc_56 »

Hi,

Apologies in advance, I am very new to CoppeliaSim and coding in general.

I am looking to simulate the linear movement of the 2 jaws in a "Schunk EGN100" gripper. The gripper is imported already and connected to a Kuka KR10. For this I have 2 prismatic joints and I can currently manually actuate the jaws using the joint object and dynamic properties windows. The joints are in force torque mode and the motors are enabled.

However, I want to do this through a child script which is associated with the gripper. i.e I would like to be able to change the force, velocity and target positions through this child script.

1) However, setting the joint position with sim.setJointPosition has absolutely no effect and seems to be determined by the "Pos. range" in the joint properties?

2)I think setting the velocity and force in the script are working as long as I do not tick "control loop".

3) I have used your advice under this topic "viewtopic.php?t=3375" but cannot
seem to get the joint to close once it has opened.

4) I have also looked at "viewtopic.php?t=1823" which is a very similar question but I am confused as to how to use one joint to actuate both grippers and also how to properly implement the joint callback function.

Essentially, in the end, I need to be able to actuate these jaws out, move my robot into position and close them on a simple shape, possibly via a UI. For now if I could get the jaws actuating in and out 0.01 meters via a child script that would be fantastic.

Thank you very much in advance for any help!

Matthew

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: Simple Prismatic Joint Actuation

Post by coppelia »

Hello Mathew,

about your questions: