Cant load swarm robot ttm model file on latest coppelia simulator version

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
Hedgie
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 14:48

Cant load swarm robot ttm model file on latest coppelia simulator version

Post by Hedgie » 24 Mar 2020, 17:15

Hi,

I'm an electronic tech at Aberdeen University helping a lecturer set up a new robotics course part of which involves simple swarm robots called Kilobots. The Kilobots were designed by Harvard university and some info on them can be found here
https://www.k-team.com/mobile-robotics-products/kilobot
On the downloads option of that page I see vrep ttm scenes and models for the bots but they were written for vrep 3,0 and when I try to load them to the latest Coppelia simulator I get the following error message "This serialisation version is not supported anymore please convert this file"
I googled this and some guy was saying that he happened to have a really old version of vrep on a laptop and he was able to update it from there.
I would really appreciate if someone could suggest how to upgrade these as I am a complete starter with this stuff and also need to keep things relatively simple for the students who will be studying kinematics etc on this course.

Cheers,

Ian

fferri
Posts: 556
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 19:28

Re: Cant load swarm robot ttm model file on latest coppelia simulator version

Post by fferri » 24 Mar 2020, 22:19

Not sure what are the differences, but CoppeliaSim ships with a Kilobot model.

Hedgie
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 14:48

Re: Cant load swarm robot ttm model file on latest coppelia simulator version

Post by Hedgie » 25 Mar 2020, 01:55

Thanks fferri

Sorry about that I had just installed the basic simulator which just shows a couple of example models. I installed the educational simulator and created a test scene using some e pucks as well because the lecturer is using them also. I've got some different programs for the kilobots using thier basic c based api so the next stage will be to work out how to program the simulator bots with my different programs. This simulator seems pretty good as it also gives me the kilibot controller (mother ship as I call it) which I can suspend above my group of kilobots.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 7706
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Cant load swarm robot ttm model file on latest coppelia simulator version

Post by coppelia » 26 Mar 2020, 09:16

..and if some old files need to be converted, you can send them to us and we will convert them to the newest CoppeliaSim version.

Cheers

Post Reply