How could I create a Flat Pack Box using 4 Revolute Joints?

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
JohnJoeKelly

How could I create a Flat Pack Box using 4 Revolute Joints?

Post by JohnJoeKelly »

Hi,

I am a student who is doing a final year project.
I have attached a screenshot of the scene where I tried creating a box:

There are no imported meshes in the box components.

I am using the box in a simulation where I grab the box at the edges with the larger diameter revolute joints using a 3 finger gripper attached to an LBR iiwa 14.
I then move this box linear until it meets an L-angle piece upon which I then press the box against said L-angle (which is at an angle of 45 degrees to the box) so that it will pop open at joints "InnerJoint(1_2)" and "InnerJoint(3_4)".

I am currently simulating the box in the scene using 2 linked dummies ("Dummy3" and "Dummy4") with a link type of Dynamics, overlap constraint between Cuboids 3 and 4. However, this linkage does not hold well when the box is pressed against the L-angle in comparison with the other 3 corners which are revolute joints.

I have a limited knowledge of the software so my question would be is there a method (or is it possible) to incorporate ""InnerJoint(3_4)" within the "Cuboid1" hierarchy so that I can join "Cuboid3" and "Cuboid4" with a revolute joint as I have done so in the other 3 corner cases?

Here is a screenshot of the box open against the L-angle with the linked dummies not aligned:

Any help on the matter is greatly appreciated!
Last edited by fferri on 15 Apr 2020, 23:54, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: inline images

coppelia
Site Admin

Re: How could I create a Flat Pack Box using 4 Revolute Joints?

Post by coppelia »

Hello John,

if I understood your explanations correctly, you are trying to model a cardboard box that you can pop open by squeezing it? i.e. from a flat configuration to a squared configuration?