Visual Servoing Coppelia SIm

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
linoleico

Visual Servoing Coppelia SIm

Post by linoleico »

Hi there,

I'm new to this simulator and I've already seen a lot of tutorials about it, but the problem is that there are so many informations that I'm kinda lost here. I need to build a scene with the kuka iiwa 14 robot arm in which the robot will follow a green target (could be any color) using a visual servoing application. I already attached the camera at the tip of the robot, made a path for the target to follow and coded a simple blob detection that gives the x and y position everytime the green target crosses the sensor. But now, I'm stuck at how to make the robot move. I researched about how the visual servoing uses Inverse jacobians, but I really don't know what to do. Also, I'm not very familiar with lua scripts. Is there any way to do this scene in another language, let's say, python, for example?

Cheers.

fferri

Re: Visual Servoing Coppelia SIm

Post by fferri »

You probably need another target (which you will control in x,y,z position) that the robot will follow, after you have configured robot's IK functionality. See models/7 DoF manipulator or models/ABB IRB 140 or the Inverse kinematics tutorial.

Top 2 results for visual servoing: Yes, it is possible to use Python (or C++, or Java, or MATLAB) via the Remote API.

linoleico

Post by linoleico »

I'm already digging into the python API to boost the image processing power. I'm 100% not a expert in this topic, but I would need to set a target to do inverse kinematics to control de robot? I mean, with just the camera information I would be able to do that, setting the joint velocities and etc, right? Not quite sure how to approach this problem. By the way, I'm very glad you repplied my topic, thanks, man.

fferri

Post by fferri »

Sure, you can also work directly with joint velocities. In that case you don't need a target or the IK calculation module at all.