Basic Dynamics Questions

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
njustus

Basic Dynamics Questions

Post by njustus »

Hello,

I'm just getting started with Coppelia, and dealing with some very basic issues, so I would like to talk to people who have some practical experience. My project is to simulate an apple-picking operation with a robotic manipulator. Step 1 is to simulate an apple hanging from a tree, which has some springiness in the limbs. I'm currently trying to do this with the heirarchy (static base shape)->(rotary joint, torque control mode, hoping to get it to freely rotate)->(inter-joint shape that seems necessary to dynamically enable joints)->(prismatic joint set to force control mode)->(apple-sphere)

I have a bunch of questions.

1) Is there a way to make a shape respondable, non-static, and non-dynamic? I want the objects connecting the springs to be massless particles that can still move around and dynamically enable the joints, but I can't find a way to do so throught he menus. My ideal would be a joint->joint connection but that also doesn't seem to be possible while getting the downstream joint to act like a spring.

2) This setup is very unstable, with the apple spinning around and flying all over the place, even when the apple and inter-joint shape have similar masses/inertias. I was hoping for a stretchy-pendulum kind of action. Any idea why/how to stop it?

3) Because of the instability, I was thinking of just doing XYZ prismatic joints. Later on when I get the gripper to grab the apple with the IK toolkit, will this cause problems if I try to move it because there's no rotary D.o.F?