Problem with Ros Interface

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
Erfan
Posts: 16
Joined: 23 Mar 2021, 02:26

Problem with Ros Interface

Post by Erfan »

Hello,

I am trying to make a functionality between CoppeliaSim_EDU (version 4.1.0) and ROS noetic on Ubuntu 20.04.
I have followed all instruction posted on:

https://www.coppeliarobotics.com/helpFi ... torial.htm

However, after running the following command:

$ catkin_make --cmake-args -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release

I have received an error as:

*************************************************************************
Base path: /home/erfan/catkin_ws
Source space: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/src
Build space: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/build
Devel space: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/devel
Install space: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/install
####
#### Running command: "cmake /home/erfan/catkin_ws/src -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Releas -DCATKIN_DEVEL_PREFIX=/home/erfan/catkin_ws/devel -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/home/erfan/catkin_ws/install -G Unix Makefiles" in "/home/erfan/catkin_ws/build"
####
-- Using CATKIN_DEVEL_PREFIX: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/devel
-- Using CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH: /opt/ros/noetic
-- This workspace overlays: /opt/ros/noetic
-- Found PythonInterp: /usr/bin/python3 (found suitable version "3.8.5", minimum required is "3")
-- Using PYTHON_EXECUTABLE: /usr/bin/python3
-- Using Debian Python package layout
-- Using empy: /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/em.py
-- Using CATKIN_ENABLE_TESTING: ON
-- Call enable_testing()
-- Using CATKIN_TEST_RESULTS_DIR: /home/erfan/catkin_ws/build/test_results
-- Forcing gtest/gmock from source, though one was otherwise available.
-- Found gtest sources under '/usr/src/googletest': gtests will be built
-- Found gmock sources under '/usr/src/googletest': gmock will be built
-- Found PythonInterp: /usr/bin/python3 (found version "3.8.5")
-- Using Python nosetests: /usr/bin/nosetests3
-- catkin 0.8.9
-- BUILD_SHARED_LIBS is on
-- BUILD_SHARED_LIBS is on
-- ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
-- ~~ traversing 2 packages in topological order:
-- ~~ - ros_bubble_rob
-- ~~ - sim_ros_interface
-- ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
-- +++ processing catkin package: 'ros_bubble_rob'
-- ==> add_subdirectory(ros_bubble_rob)
-- +++ processing catkin package: 'sim_ros_interface'
-- ==> add_subdirectory(sim_ros_interface)
-- Using these message generators: gencpp;geneus;genlisp;gennodejs;genpy
-- CoppeliaSim: LIBPLUGIN_DIR: /home/erfan/CoppeliaSim/programming/libPlugin.
-- CoppeliaSim: COPPELIASIM_ROOT_DIR: /home/erfan/CoppeliaSim.
-- Found CoppeliaSim installation at /home/erfan/CoppeliaSim.
-- Checking CoppeliaSim header version...
-- CoppeliaSim headers version 4.1.0 rev1
-- Adding simStubsGen command...
CMake Error at sim_ros_interface/CMakeLists.txt:68 (coppeliasim_add_plugin):
Unknown CMake command "coppeliasim_add_plugin".


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/erfan/catkin_ws/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/erfan/catkin_ws/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".
Invoking "cmake" failed
*************************************************************

Can everybody kindy help me to resolve this issue?

Thank you in advance and regards,
Erfan
Top

Filipe Rocha
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 May 2017, 20:51

Re: Problem with Ros Interface

Post by Filipe Rocha »

Hi, Erfan. How are you?

I have just successfully compiled sim_ros_interface in the Ubuntu 20.04/ROS Noetic/CoppeliaSim 4.1.0 combo.

First of all, the plugin requires the catkin build tool instead of catkin_make. You may install it with

Code: Select all

$ apt install python-catkin-tools
Then, remove build and devel folders from your catkin_ws, and from now on, compile the ROS workspace using

Code: Select all

$ catkin build
Second point, considering that you are using CoppeliaSim (version 4.1.0), download here the correct sim_ros_interface version. Extract it to your catkin_ws and rename this package folder to sim_ros_interface. Now go on and try compiling it again with your brand new catkin build tool!

PS. If you updated the <coppeliasim>/programming/libPlugin folder, maybe you will have revert this operation, e.g. by downloading and extracting again the CoppeliaSim 4.1.0.

Best regards, and good luck with your functionality! :)

Erfan
Posts: 16
Joined: 23 Mar 2021, 02:26

Re: Problem with Ros Interface

Post by Erfan »

Thank you Filipe, it works perfectly :) I can see the ros topics.

Post Reply