Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
Post Reply
Tamir
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jan 2020, 09:42

Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by Tamir »

For my uses, I have to reset the scene many times. Every time VREP resets, it pushes itself to the top window, even if it was minimized before.

Does anyone know how to suppress this?

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10375
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

what does reset mean for you? Stop a running simulation? Or start a new simulation run?
Also, what platform are you on?

Cheers

Tamir
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jan 2020, 09:42

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by Tamir »

Hello, thanks for the reply.

By reset, I mean stopping the scene and then starting it back up (with everything reset to initial conditions).

I have the newest version of CopelliaSim but I also faced the same behavior with the newest version of VREP. The computer is Linux.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10375
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by coppelia »

I cannot reproduce this. It must be something in your scene that is causing this... maybe a custom UI?
What happens if you use following code in a customization script, in an empty scene:

Code: Select all

function sysCall_init()
end

function sysCall_actuation()
    printToConsole(".")
    if sim.getSimulationTime()>20 and not stopping then
        stopping=true
        sim.stopSimulation()
        printToConsole("stopping")
    end
end

function sysCall_afterSimulation()
    stopping=false
    printToConsole("starting")
    sim.startSimulation()
end
start your simulation then minimize the CoppeliaSim window. Does the window pop open again?

Cheers

Tamir
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jan 2020, 09:42

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by Tamir »

Using your customized script, the window doesn't maximize either.

I am using the remote API for python, for which it does. I am not using a customized UI to the best of my knowledge.

Edit: I noticed it does not occur with an empty scene or even with just a sphere

It looks like it is connected to my scene. In my scene, I create a graph and have a vision sensor

Edit2: It appears to be the graph

Tamir
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jan 2020, 09:42

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by Tamir »

"Visibile while simulation running" was checked, which caused this undesired behavior, in case anyone else has the same issue. I unchecked it and it appears to be okay now.

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10375
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: Stop Window Maximizing During Scene Reset

Post by coppelia »

Thanks for the precisions. It seems that I cannot reproduce this on Windows. But this is very probably linked to the custom UI of the graph activating itself (in lua/utils.lua, around line 542, there is the activate argument).

Cheers

Post Reply