sim.saveImage causes the script to freeze/crash

Report crashes, strange behaviour, or apparent bugs
fabio53443

sim.saveImage causes the script to freeze/crash

Post by fabio53443 »

Hi! I'm new to CoppeliaSim and i'm trying to build a simulator of a 4wd robot for a school project.
I'm using the ZMQ python API and a simple Lua script that only opens up the API port.
I've run into an issue: whenever i try to sim.saveImage, this gets logged into the Coppelia console and the python program hangs:

Code: Select all

[Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnScript:error] [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:439: [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:393: ...ktop/Coppelia/luarocks/share/lua/5.3/org/conman/cbor.lua:301: attempt to get length of a number value (local 'value')
{'ret' = {{'data' = 1, }}, }
stack traceback:
    [C]: in function 'error'
    [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:393: in field 'send'
    [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:511: in function 'coroutineMain'
stack traceback:
    [C]: in function 'error'
    [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:494: in field 'resumeCoroutine'
    [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:439: in field 'handleQueue'
    [string "Connectivity >> ZMQ remote API server@addOnSc..."]:660: in function 'sysCall_actuation'
This is my code:

def getImage():
    m, sim = setup()
    cam = sim.getObject('./kinect/rgb')
    data, res = sim.getVisionSensorImg(cam)
    a = sim.saveImage(data, res, 0, "a.png", 10)

The photo does however get saved in the right folder. The issue does occur if the image is saved either with a name (and in the coppelia folder) or with an absolute path. The issue does not occur if the image is saved to ram by omitting a filename in the path argument.