How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Typically: "How do I... ", "How can I... " questions
satheeshkumar_v
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 10:17

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by satheeshkumar_v »

Hi,

Now the plugin is successfully loaded but the console still shows error in childscript

[sandboxScript:info] Simulation started.
[/hapticDevice@childScript:error] 24: in simCHAI3D.start@simExtCHAI3D: Initialization failed.
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'simExtCHAI3D_start'
[string "/hapticDevice@childScript"]:24: in function 'sysCall_init'
[sandboxScript:info] Simulation suspended.


Thanks
Satheesh

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10376
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by coppelia »

You do not have additional infos from the console? What does the terminal say?

Keep in mind that you will need an appropriate haptic device installed with its own software and drivers...

Cheers

satheeshkumar_v
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 10:17

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by satheeshkumar_v »

Hi

No additional info in the console. simulation gets suspended right after the error.
[sandboxScript:info] Simulation suspended.

Also, No errors in the terminal, It says
[CoppeliaSim:loadinfo] plugin 'CHAI3D': loading...
[CoppeliaSim:loadinfo] plugin 'CHAI3D': load succeeded.



I have my touch haptic device connected and the respective software and drivers are installed. I could able to run few demos from the touch drivers and applications. The initialization fails within the coppelia only.

Installed Software:
Image

thanks

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10376
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by coppelia »

Your plugin is failing with the call:

Code: Select all

  // get access to the first available haptic device found
  if (!DeviceHandler->getDevice(device, deviceIndex))
  {
    // your plugin fails getting the device and ends up in here
    SceneLock->release();
    return false;
  }
That's a call to the CHAI3D function getDevice. If the device index is correct (did you try 0, 1, 2 or 3?), then it could mean that you have to compile the plugin yourself, using an updated version of CHAI3D.

Cheers

satheeshkumar_v
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 10:17

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by satheeshkumar_v »

Hi,

Many thanks for letting me know.

I tried with all the device indices, Still not working.

I have never done the compilation of plugins, would you please tell me or share a link on how to do the same?

Thanks
Satheesh

fferri
Posts: 1231
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 19:28

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by fferri »

Compiling the plugin can be done with Qt Creator. Simply open the .pro file, edit it for adjusting for libraries paths, and compile.

afded
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Apr 2024, 13:10

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by afded »

coppelia wrote: 25 Aug 2022, 09:48 Hello,

the CHAI3D plugin for CoppeliaSim is a c++ project. You can download the Windows dll here. Keep in mind that it was compiled for the newest release, and you might find some error messages. Let me know what it prints in the console.

Cheers
Hi,

I am also new to coppeliasim and visual basic. I have no idea how to compile the plugin in Visual basic or QT(I just open the simChai3d.pro and debug, but errors occurred). The link is unavailable now, would you please provide me the .dll files compiled for windows system?

Thanks a lot!

coppelia
Site Admin
Posts: 10376
Joined: 14 Dec 2012, 00:25

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by coppelia »

Hello,

you can find that DLL here.

Cheers

afded
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Apr 2024, 13:10

Re: How to use the haptic device(TOUCH) to control the KUKA LBR_iiwa_7_R800 ?

Post by afded »

Hi,
Many thanks for your response. I ran the simulation and the console said CHAI3D plugin was not found, or was not correctly initialized (simExtCHAI3D.dll)." Since the file I downloaded was simChai3d.dll from the link, did I need the file simExtCHAI3D.dll? If so, could you provide this file? Thanks a lot!
Best wishes.

Post Reply